Pacific Alumni Association Awards

The Pacific Alumni Association is proud to announce three winners of the Faculty Mentor Awards. Congratulations to the 2016 award recipients:

Amy Scott Brown – Gladys L. Benerd School of Education

Maurice McCullen – College of the Pacific, Faculty Emeritus

Willard Price – Eberhardt School of Business, Faculty Emeritus

These outstanding faculty are recognized for mentoring students and alumni through their personal and professional relationships.

Amy Scott BrownAmy Scott Brown is an associate professor of educational and school psychology in the Gladys L. Benerd School of Education. She earned her master's degree and doctorate in educational psychology at Arizona State University and a bachelor's degree in psychology and religious studies at UC Berkeley. One of her former students, Amy Burns '14, nominated her for the award, noting that Brown is "always going out of her way" to support students and help them find fieldwork and internship placements that match their interests.  

Maurice McCullenMaurice McCullen, a scholar of Dickens and Thackeray, was a member of the College of the Pacific English department faculty from 1970 to 2002. In nominating McCullen for the award, former student Kim Austin '90, now a marketing manager at Cisco Systems, praised his efforts to connect students with on-campus jobs and internships as well as jobs in the local community. "He gave students the courage to change career paths," she wrote. "He recognized the potential in students."  

Willard PriceWillard Price taught operations management and engineering management courses and served as a member of the Eberhardt School of Business faculty for 34 years, retiring in 2015. Former student Byron Meth '15, a Tiger golf star who earned a bachelor's degree in business administration with a minor in economics, recalled Price as a demanding professor who made coursework relevant and fun. Another former student, Willa (Kathy) King-Harris '88, now deputy director of human resources for San Joaquin County, remembered Price as a great influence and inspiration. "He has made a lifelong commitment to students," she wrote in her nominating letter.  

This year's awards will be presented Nov. 13 at an awards brunch on the university's Stockton campus. For more information, contact the Pacific Alumni Association at 209.946.2391. 

Nominations for the 2017 awards can be made online at Visit the GALLERY OF FACULTY MENTORS for a complete list of past recipients.

The 2016 selection committee included: Mary Pietanza ‘86, Erin Mettler ‘01, Margaret Frederickson ‘66, Grant Reeder ‘86, Dick McClure ‘78, LaNor Smith ’86 ‘87, and Danna Moreno ‘74. Thank you to all those who submitted a nomination this year. We had a great group of nominees to choose from!


The Pacific Alumni Association has awarded its 2016 Distinguished Alumni Awards. The recipients include:

Medallion of Excellence - Morrison C. England Jr. '77 COP, '83 LAW
Distinguished Professional Service Award - Connie X. Rishwain '79 COP
Distinguished Public Service Award - Ronald B. Robie '67 LAW
Honorary Alumni Award - Paul Fairbrook
Outstanding Family Award - Chan Family

The Distinguished Alumni Awards recognize alumni whose outstanding achievements and services to humanity have brought credit to the University of the Pacific. The Alumni Association is proud of this year's recipients and the contributions they've made, accomplishments they've achieved and the dedication they give to the University and the community.

Read more about the 2016 honorees.

Full access to 2016 event photos available at our Flickr Page

Submit a nomination for 2017

Pacific Tiger Award

The Pacific Tiger Award is presented annually by the Pacific Alumni Association to recognize a registered student organization that exhibits and promotes school spirit, encourages student participation in activities and events and/or provides students with knowledge of Pacific's heritage, traditions and history.